# JEROME MUNICIPAL COURT

PO BOX 335 - 600 Clark Street 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor Jerome, Arizona 86331 Phone: 928-649-3250 Fax: 928-634-5462 **Open: Tue. Wed. Thu. 8:30am – 3:30pm** Website: www.jerome.az.gov/municipal court **Email:** jeromemuni@courts.az.gov

#### Effective: 5/10/2022

### IMPORTANT READ THIS FIRST

**Please read this document thoroughly** as it explains all your available options.

You **MUST** respond to this citation on or before your court date.

The cited person must contact the Court by telephone, by email, or in person *unless* completing any of the options explained on this document. *Call the court prior to coming to the court in person as office hours are subject to change without notice.* 

The violation box on the citation contains the charge(s) and will be listed as either Civil Traffic, Criminal Traffic, or Criminal. If the charge(s) is listed as Criminal, or Criminal Traffic, or was issued after an accident involving death and/or serious injury, you <u>MUST</u> appear on your court date and time.

If the charge is listed as Civil Traffic, this is not a mandatory appearance date, but a date by which you must contact the court. You may choose to resolve the matter without a hearing. Options for resolution are detailed further in this document.

Failure to contact the court for Civil Traffic on or before your court date shall result in entry of default judgement, a \$20 time payment fee, \$20 court fee, and a default fee of \$25.00 (per charge) shall be added. Your case will then be sent to a collection agency resulting in additional fees. Your credit and vehicle registration may be affected, as well as your Arizona State Tax return.

JUVENILES: If you are under 18 years of age, your parent or legal guardian MUST contact the Court.

## Fines and Fees Schedule Effective 5/10/2022

If your violation is not listed below, you may contact the court prior to your court date for more information.

(\*) indicates violations eligible for Defensive Driving School

**IMPORTANT NOTICE:** If you have been cited for 28-645A3A /A28-647.1 or are under the age of 18 (**First Offense**) and plea *or* are found responsible for a mobbing violation you may be required to attend a traffic survival school (TSS) by the Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) pursuant to the requirements of the Arizona Revised Statutes. If you are eligible for the Defensive Driving Program and complete the class, the violation will be closed, and you will not be subject to the requirement to attend a TSS class by the MVD.

#### ARIZONA REVISED STATUTES

*28-701A (Accident)	\$190.00
*28-701A (Non-Accident):	
1-10 mph over limit	\$140.00
11-15 mph over limit	\$190.00
16-20 mph over limit	\$290.00
21-25 mph over limit	\$390.00
26+ mph over limit	\$493.00
*28-702.04B	CALL COURT
*28-702.01C(Non-Accident)	CALL COURT
*28-727	\$190.00
28-2153A, B	\$137.00
28-2158C	\$137.00
28-2266C	\$130.00
28-2532	\$582.00
28-3151A	\$137.00
28-4135	\$938.00
28-4139	\$493.00

# **Town Code Violations**

#### Section 12-1-2D

\$208.00
\$258.00
\$358.00
\$290.00
\$190.00
\$138.00
\$238.00

### Information on Reduced Fines and Dismissals Effective 5/10/2022

# A.R.S. 28-907 - CHILD PASSENGER RESTRAINT

With proof of child passenger restraint system after date and time citation was issued fine may be reduced to \$0.

# A.R.S. 28-2532 - NO PROOF OF CURRENT REGISTRATION

Mail proof of current AZ registration and charge will be dismissed.

#### A.R.S 28-3169 - NO LICENSE IN POSSESSION

With proof of valid driver's license on date and time citation was issued fine may be reduced to \$0.

# A.R.S. 28-4135(A), (B), OR (C) - NO PROOF OF INSURANCE

Carries a fine ranging from \$938.00 to \$1828.00.

- 1st Conviction \$938.00 fine, and 3-month suspension of driver's privilege, vehicle registration and plates by MVD.
- 2nd Conviction \$1,383.00 fine, and 6-month suspension of driver's privilege, vehicle registration and plates by MVD.
- 3rd Conviction \$1,828.00 fine, and 1-year suspension of driver's privilege, vehicle registration and plates by MVD.

To be eligible for a reduced fine you must provide proof of the following:

- 1. A copy of your 3-year driving record from MVD showing no insurance convictions within 2 years or only 1 conviction within 3 years.
- 2. Valid 6-month insurance policy.

To be eligible for a dismissal you must:

- 1. Be cited with subsection B or C
- 2. Had a valid 6-month insurance policy at the time of the citation.

### OPTION 1 DEFENSIVE DRIVING SCHOOL

### **ADVANTAGES :**

- 1. You will not have to pay a fine for that **ONE** violation.
- 2. You will not have to go to court for that **ONE** Violation. That violation will be closed. For any other violation(s) you must pay the fine or appear in court.
- 3. No Points will be assessed against your driver's license for that **ONE** violation. Points on your driving record may cause an increase in insurance rates.

### You are Eligible IF:

- 1. You have not attended Defense Driving School within the last 12 months, violation date to violation date.
- The violation code written on your citation is listed on this document with an asterisk (\*). Town Code violations are *not* eligible.
- 3. Your violation code was not issued from an accident involving death and/or serious injury.
- 4. You were not driving a commercial vehicle.

# THIS COURSE MUST BE COMPLETED AT LEAST 7 DAYS PRIOR TO YOUR APPEARANCE DATE.

If you do not complete the course prior to the appearance date, you must appear in court or you will be subject to entry of default judgement, a \$20 time payment fee, \$20 court fee, and a default fee of \$25.00 (per charge). Your case will then be sent to a collection agency resulting in additional fees. Your credit and vehicle registration may be affected, as well as your Arizona State Tax return.

To register for the class call (888) 334-5565 or for online registration go to <u>www.azcourts.gov/drive</u>.

- 1. Have your ticket, a pen/pencil, and a piece of paper ready when you call to register.
- 2. Take your ticket, driver's license, and money order to the class.

**IMPORTANT:** Completion of Traffic Survival School (TSS) will not satisfy the Defensive Driving School Requirement. You may use the Defensive Driving Program for **ONLY** one eligible violation code. If you received more than one violation code on your citation, the other violations must be resolved using Options 2 or 3.

## OPTION 2 PAY FINE

# PAY VIA MAIL:

1. **READ and SIGN** the following statement: *"I waive my right to hearing and enter a plea of responsible."* 

# SIGN HERE

- 2. **WRITE** complaint # located at top of citation:
- 3. Match violation code(s) on Complaint to Codes listed to determine amount owed.
- 4. Print the following information:

Name		
(as it appears on y	our citation)	
ADDRESS		
CITY	ST	ZIP
PHONE#		DOB

	FINE AMOUNT
Charge A	\$
Charge B	\$
Charge C	\$
Charge D	\$
Charge E	\$
Mandatory \$20.00 Court Fee	\$ 20.00
\$20 Time Payment Fee, if applicable	\$
GRAND TOTAL	\$

If you want a return receipt include a self-addressed and an appropriately stamped envelope.

## PAY ONLINE:

- 1. <u>www.azcourtpay.com</u> (\$5.00 fee imposed)
- 2. <u>www.jeromepayments.com</u> (5% fee imposed)

## PAY IN PERSON AT COURT:

You may appear in person during business hours at the court to set up a payment plan or pay the fine in full. Payments must be *exact cash*, check, or money order. A drop box for checks and money orders only is available for after hours.

**IMPORTANT:** Paying by mail and paying online are <u>not</u> <u>available</u> if you are under 18 years of age. A parent or legal guardian **must** contact the court.

#### OPTION 3 REQUEST A CIVIL TRAFFIC HEARING

#### 1. **READ and SIGN** the following statement:

" I request a hearing to contest the charges indicated below. I enter my plea of <u>not</u> responsible. I understand I am giving up my option of attending Defensive Driving School. I understand that I may voluntarily enclose a bond (check or money order) equal to the fines plus the court enhancement fee, which shall be forfeited should I fail to appear for my hearing. I further understand that the bond forfeiture will relieve me of the possibility of the court assessing additional monetary sanctions." **SIGN HERE** 

# BOND 🗆 IS 🗆 IS NOT ENCLOSED

- 2. WRITE complaint # located at top of citation:
- 3. **CHECK** the charge in the box below for each charge that you are requesting a hearing be set for. (Charge numbers run vertically down the left side of the citation)

CHARGE	Α	В	С	D	Е	

4. Print the following information:

#### Name\_\_\_

(as it appears on yo	ur citation)		
ADDRESS			
CITY	ST	ZIP	
PHONE#		DOB	
EMAIL			

5. Mail this form, at least seven days prior to your court date. You will be notified by mail and/or email of your new hearing date. If you do not receive notice within 20 days of mailing in your request, please call the court at 928-649-3250 for more information.

**IMPORTANT:** If you choose to mail in the amount of your fine(s), the payment will be posted as a bond and held until the time of your scheduled hearing. If you fail to appear at the hearing, a default judgement will be entered against you and your payment forfeited to satisfy the judgment. Your payment will be refunded if you are found not responsible. If you do not include a payment and you fail to appear at the hearing a default judgement will be entered against you, additional fees will be added, and the amount owed will be sent to a collection agency.

You must appear on the date assigned and be prepared to present evidence and examine witnesses before a Judge or Civil Traffic Hearing Officer.